Ten Outstanding Young Leaders (TOYL) Awards is about Boston’s present and, more importantly, Boston’s future. Past recipients often become transformational leaders in our region’s economy and beyond. Nine years before his mayoral run, Secretary of Labor Martin J. Walsh was one of the ten. While still pursuing a master’s in public administration, the 1999 class of TOYL winners included Melissa MacDonnell, current President of Liberty Mutual Foundation. In recent years, winners include a doctor on the front lines of teen addiction, a rocket scientist, a leader advancing the voices of women in corporate America, a founder whose pharmaceutical start-up was recently acquired by Amazon, and so many others.

This award recognizes the accomplishments of young professionals who have made the Greater Boston region the best place for businesses and people to thrive. This year, we are explicitly awarding individuals who address barriers and support equity. They are leaders whose principles embody what it means to create a diverse, inclusive, and equitable environment, culture, organization, or community.


City Awake is the Greater Boston Chamber of Commerce’s premier young professional platform that awakens and empowers the city’s next generation of thought leaders and change makers who are navigating Boston’s business, civic, and cultural communities.

Questions? Reach Out

Jessica Sanon
Jessica Sanon

Senior Program Manager

Greater Boston Chamber of Commerce

Nominee Criteria

  • The nominee has held a leadership position within their organization or community.

  • The nominee is under 40 years old by Friday, October 8, 2022.

  • The nominee must be an inclusive leader who supports and encourages an equitable and diverse culture.

  • The nominee must live or work in Greater Boston for 1+ years .

  • The nominee should demonstrate one or more of the following qualities:

    Application Process

    The application process is two-fold: We ask for a nomination application, followed by a nominee application. A nominator must apply in order for the nominee to receive an invitation to complete their form. Please note that completed applications must be submitted on time to be considered for this award.

    How it works: You may nominate yourself or someone else. That individual will then get notified to fill out a nominee profile. Filling out this profile is required to move to the final round of applicants. After the deadline, a committee will review all applicants and vote for the top 10 best applicants. Winners will be notified and informed about next steps. All honorees will be featured during a fully virtual campaign in November 2022.

    See Past Honorees

    Submission Timeline:

  • Nominations Open: September 21, 2022
  • Nominations Due: October 11, 2022

    Please note: Nominations for this award may be made by both Chamber member and non-member organizations.

    Once nominations are in:
    Nominee Due Date: Nominees must submit a nominee profile by October 24.

    Submit a Nomination
  • 2021 Honorees

    Jayda Leder Luis TOYL Winner
    Jayda Leder-Luis

    Vice President, Denterlein

    Helen Adeosun

    CEO & FOUNDER, CareAcademy

    Monica Tibbits-Nutt

    Executive Director, 128 Business Council

    Rev. Willie Boderick, II

    Senior Pastor, Twelfth Baptist Church

    Vivian Pham

    Chief of Staff, MA Rehabilitation Commission

    Joy Kallenberg

    Research & Development Director, P&G GIllette

    Ayda Zugay

    Principal & Co-Founder, Advancing Agency

    Sharhea Wade

    VP | Head of Inclusion, State Street Corporation

    Catherine Morris
    Catherine T. Morris

    Founder & Interim Executive Director, Boston Art & Music Soul (BAMS) Fest, Director, Arts & Culture, The Boston Foundation

    Matteo Urella
    Matteo Urella

    Senior Program Manager, National Grid